16 comments on “Tree of Life *****

  1. Good review Chris. Every visual in this movie feels like it was perfectly calculated inside of Malick’s head and not a single waste of the two-and-a-half hours. The story may take awhile to get going and actually be comprehensible, but once that middle-part comes in, it picks up a whole bunch of steam and becomes unlike anything else you’ve seen.

    • Cheers Dan. I couldn’t agree more with that comment. I actually expected and was fully prepared not to understand the film. Yeah you can see just how meticulous Malick was with this film.

  2. I’ve seen this a few times and each viewing gives me a new interpretation. This was my favorite of 2011 and I’d say it’s Malick’s best after The Thin Red Line. Nice review.

  3. Marvellous movie. I too gave it 5 stars Chris. A majestic piece of cinema that captures the conundrums of life itself. Probably my favourite Malick movie after The Thin Red line.

  4. Nice review Chris. I’ve only seen this once and I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. Part of me loved the imagery what it represented but part of me thought it was too self-indulgent. I think another watch might be in order.

Leave a Reply

